A Sad Sunset

End of the Day … and More …

Back in late August, I was driving from New Mexico to Oklahoma to visit my Dad, who at age 95 was in a nursing home, and having severe medical problems.  Shortly after I started the trip I was notified that he had passed away.  About an hour later, I was gifted this beautiful sunset which now serves as a poignant reminder of my Dad … of a life well-lived, and now free.

Author: Mike Hendren

Photography is a way for us to express how we view the world around us. It can reveal how we see things - our perception of reality. At times, it provides a creative medium that allows us to alter that reality. Photography also provides a way to capture time and then travel back there whenever you wish. Every time you look at a photo, it can transport you back to that moment, allowing you to relive and remember …

6 thoughts on “A Sad Sunset”

  1. I had a similar experience. My sister and I had been staying with my folks to help out during my dad’s last illness, and we took a little drive one evening just to get away for a little while. We had a beautiful sunset. When we got back to the house, we found that dad had passed away. Every time I see the image I made of that sunset, I remember that evening and my father’s quiet strength.

    Like

Leave a Reply

